Why are the parents of boys so much crazier?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by TrademarkTer, Jul 29, 2019.

1. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Groupie

Jul 29, 2019

I've been teaching high school for seven years, and I've dealt with a number of crazy parents. That said, every single crazy parent I've ever dealt with, the child was a boy. I've teach in a high SES district so I've had to meet with lawyers, advocates, and a host of other individuals brought in my overzealous parents. I've had parents that have emailed me on an almost daily basis, and parents that have and parents that have had ridiculous demands for redos, retakes, changing grades, accepting late work, and all kinds of other stuff. The only common thread is in EVERY SINGLE case, the child has been a boy. If you asked me before I started teaching, I would suspect it to be the opposite, envisioning parents being overprotective of their girls, but this couldn't be further from the truth. In fact, parents of girls have been much more likely to reach out to me with positive feedback, praise, and thanks. Parents of boys have been much more likely to drive me insane.

Is this your experience as well, or the opposite? Why do you think it is?

Last edited: Jul 29, 2019
  3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Jul 29, 2019

I've had seven parents in ten years that I'd say were outrageous (three of them all in the same year... ugh). Of the seven kiddos, six were girls, one was a boy.

I will say that I also tend to get a lot more positive feedback from the parents of girls. If I had to guess, I'd say that girls in general are more likely to share details of their school day with their parents.

4. Aces

Aces Habitué

Jul 29, 2019