Whose job to teach responsibility?

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Teach4Kids, Oct 11, 2015.

1. Teach4Kids

Teach4Kids Guest

Oct 11, 2015

I wanted to see what other teachers think about this. I have been teaching for 12 years and constantly here more and more that a teachers job is to teach responsibility. What colleagues mean by this is do not accept late assignments, those that do take off a load of points, and do not give kids a break. My thoughts are if I am teaching them something it is important enough to spend my time on it, they should be expected to turn it in. That is the responsibility that I want to teach them. Deadlines are important, but sometimes I need a break on deadlines as well. It is not important when they learn it, it is if they learn it at this point. I hate the argument and want to see what others think.

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Oct 11, 2015

Like everything else, there needs to be a balance. You need to find what works for you in your classroom and within your school community with its particular vibe. What works for others may not work in your classroom, and what works at other schools or in other districts or states may not work in yours, and vice versa.