Who's good at solving genetic problems? I need help with this problem!

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by Peachyness, Jun 24, 2010.

1. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Jun 24, 2010

So, I'm studying for the science CSET and I'm working on some practice genetics problems. I'm stuck on the reasoning behind their answer.

Here is the problem:
    The answers:
    Before I give you their answer, maybe you can figure it out and tell me why.

Thanks!!

3. TeacherGroupie

TeacherGroupie Moderator

Jun 24, 2010

I would expect the answer to be c, and the reasoning is most likely this:

a. We're starting with green plants: they are necessarily either homozygous dominant (GG) or heterozygous (Gg).
    b. Yellow pea plants are strictly homozygous recessive: gg.
    c. Heterozygous plants (Gg) bred together have a 1:4 chance of producing yellow offspring.
    d. Breeding a known GG to a plant of unknown genotype will yield green, period.
    e. Breeding a known gg to a plant of unknown genotype will yield all and only green peas if and only if the plant is GG; it will yield 1/2 yellow peas if and only if the plant is Gg; I'm assuming we already know that the plant is not gg, but the result of a gg-gg cross would be yellow only.

It's entirely possible that I'm wrong, but then I'm no geneticist.

4. jwteacher

jwteacher Cohort

Jun 24, 2010

Nope, you're right TeacherGroupie. The question states to find out if it is GG or Gg. Crossbreeding a GG or Gg plant with a gg plant is the only possible way to figure out its genotype. If it's GG, you'll still get a green plant 100% of the time. If it's Gg, you'll get a green plant only 50% of the time.

EDIT: You could also crossbreed with a Gg plant as you'll still get a green plant 100% with a GG plant, and 75% of the time with a Gg plant.

So I guess the answer is A and C?

5. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Jun 24, 2010