Whole Brain Teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by CatfaceMeowmers, Mar 12, 2015.

1. CatfaceMeowmers

CatfaceMeowmers Companion

Mar 12, 2015

I'm really digging WBT! I am not yet a teacher, but I've watched so many videos about WBT and lots of "examples" in the classroom. I am very eager to use this. However, it does seem fairly extensive and has many small parts that make up the WHOLE of WBT.

I also have looked into CHAMPS - I like CHAMPS because these are the desired expectations that students need to know. But WBT is a sort of classroom management program.

Does anyone have experience with WBT? Also, any experience with CHAMPS?

Am I crazy for thinking I could possibly do both?

I definitely believe WBT will work for 6th graders in math class! :D

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Mar 13, 2015

I use the parts I like best of both systems. Cherry picking isn't always a bad thing!

I was a trainer for my school on CHAMPs and went to a workshop and read a book for WBT.

4. CatfaceMeowmers

Mar 13, 2015

If you don't mind me asking, which parts do you think are the best? :)

5. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Mar 13, 2015

I use the charts for the different activities from Champs, class yes, teach, okay, and mirror from WBT. I use the scoreboard during weeks before holidays, and other crazy times.

6. CatfaceMeowmers

Mar 14, 2015

I know WBT has A LOT of stuff to it. I do really like class-yes, teach-okay, and mirror-words. I do think using gestures, especially in math, will help the students while they learn. I also love the layout of Champs - letting the students know the expectations and all that is desired for the day is a great way for them to, well, know the expectations. I'm just afraid of talking too much and not being able to get any "work" done. But I'd much rather get all of the classroom management set up in the beginning of the year than later in the year.