Whole Brain Teaching

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Mrs.Giggles, Jun 16, 2013.

1. Mrs.Giggles

Mrs.Giggles Companion

Jun 16, 2013

As I prepare for my first year as a teacher, I find myself researching various teaching strategies.

I am a very energetic and enthusiastic person, and I want that to come off in my teaching. I know that my classroom will include a large amount of cooperative learning activities, but I am also possibly interested in incorporating Whole Brain Teaching. I am not fully on board with it yet as I still have questions, but I am willing to give it a try.

Does anyone have any experience with implementing Whole Brain Teaching strategies within the classroom? If so, what did you like about it? What challenges did you face? Would you recommend this method to other teachers?

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jun 16, 2013

I went to a workshop on it, but I think they must have left lots of things off the agenda.

4. pwhatley

pwhatley Maven

Jun 16, 2013

I am very definitely a fan of WBT, and I use some of their strategies in my classroom (grade 1 the past 5 years). I hope to use a few more as I move to third grade this year. My entire school will be implementing Kagan structures, so we'll see (I also like many of the Kagan structures).

5. yellowdaisies

yellowdaisies Fanatic

Jun 17, 2013

I find that WBT and Kagan actually complement each other well. I've attended a Kagan workshop and LOVED it. I would love to teach at a Kagan school!

I really like many aspects of WBT, but I don't necessarily want to implement the whole thing. I'm going to look into it this summer, too. :)

6. ancientcivteach

ancientcivteach Habitué

Jun 17, 2013

My school uses Class, yes and it is effective. I'm reading about The Universal Homework Model - anyone use that with success?

7. Mrs.Giggles

Mrs.Giggles Companion

Jun 17, 2013