Who to email?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by acl1974, Aug 17, 2012.

1. acl1974

acl1974 Companion

Aug 17, 2012

I have a quick question I was hoping someone could answer or give advice on. I mailed my resume packet yesterday to a school that just posted an opening for a journalism teaching job, which is what I have been doing in my non-teaching job for the last 16 years. I am not getting my hopes up because I have come to realize that many things go on behind the scenes and they may even already have someone in mind. However, I also want to email the principal. The problem is that the posting simply states high school. This district has two high schools. The website isn't very helpful because it seems to be under renovation. Anyway, would you email both principals or neither since I am unsure which one.
    Thanks.

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Aug 17, 2012

email your cover letter and resume to both, and to every other high school prinicpal you can find, regardless of who is showing openings.

4. acl1974

acl1974 Companion

Aug 17, 2012

That makes it easier than trying to figure out which one to focus on. Thanks.

5. acl1974

acl1974 Companion

Aug 17, 2012

Well, I emailed both principals and apparently impressed the wrong one, but it felt good to hear positive feedback and maybe he'll remember my name for future openings. I sent a short email that said that I had applied to the district for the open position and attached my cover letter, resume and letters of recommendation. He wrote back within an hour and said that based on my email alone he would love to get me in his school, but the position was in the other high school in the district. I thanked him and he asked if I had emailed the other principal, which I had. I didn't hear back from the other principal. The deadline for applying is Tuesday so I am praying for an interview. We'll see.

6. elateacher4life

elateacher4life Cohort

Aug 17, 2012