who has gotten a job fresh out of college?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by HufflePuff, Aug 5, 2007.

1. HufflePuff

HufflePuff Cohort

Aug 5, 2007

i recently graduated and just accepted a teacher's aide position due to the lack of any other job prospects.

i am wondering...how many of you have gotten jobs RIGHT after you graduated college? meaning...graduated in may, got a FULL time teaching job in september.

3. ITeach4Him

ITeach4Him Comrade

Aug 5, 2007

I know you are asking for those that DID get hired right out of college, but just wanted you to know that there are LOTS that don't.

It took me a year (one school year after graduation) to get hired as a classroom teacher. You're doing the right thing, getting your foot in the door as an aide will keep you working with children in the field you want to be in.

4. buck8teacher

buck8teacher Devotee

Aug 5, 2007

I graduated in December of 2006 and started a long term sub in February of 2007. I just got hired on Thursday. You are doing the right thing, gaining experience and getting your foot in the door. If you see it as an opprotunity to gain experience, and let your passion to teach shine through every day---then your principal will take notice!

5. Mrs.Bran

Mrs.Bran Comrade

Aug 5, 2007

I got hired right after my credential program, but I was 25, not fresh out of college. I was a manager in a retail store for a couple of years before I went back to school to get my credential. Not sure if that counts.

6. Hamster

Hamster Comrade

Aug 5, 2007

I was hired half-time teacher the first year and then full-time the next year.

7. chemteach55

chemteach55 Connoisseur

Aug 5, 2007