Who Has Classroom Pets?

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by Hamster, Jul 27, 2007.

1. Hamster

Hamster Comrade

Jul 27, 2007

I just bought a guinia pig and a hamster for my 4th grade classroom. Does anyone have pets besides fish?

3. Emma35

Emma35 Connoisseur

Jul 27, 2007

I used to have a hamster but had to get rid of it because one child had allergies. :(

4. Miss Bradley

Miss Bradley Companion

Jul 27, 2007

I was just thinking about this today. I would love to have a hamster in my classroom! Maybe I should wait until school starts though just in case someone has allergies.

5. mclaugcr

mclaugcr Companion

Jul 27, 2007

I only have fish, but some teachers that I have worked with in previous years have had hamsters. The kids loved to have them in the classroom (especially since they got to name the hamsters).

6. Ms.Jasztal

Ms.Jasztal Maven

Jul 28, 2007

Wow, your username is Hamster!!

I have two gerbils. I am new to it but doing quite well so far. :)

7. OtterMom

OtterMom Comrade

Jul 28, 2007

I had Guinea Pigs four years ago, and a foot-long African millipede two years ago, but now our district has made it so difficult that most of us have given up our pets.

You have to have an annual veterinarian's certificate (costs at least $15 per pet unless you can find a vet to donate their services) that states your classroom pet is free of disease or other problems. Students are not allowed to touch or care for the pets, the pets must not be removed from their habitats, etc. etc.

There's not much point any more, with all the rules. :mad:

8. Hamster

Hamster Comrade

Jul 28, 2007