Who Are You as a Learner?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by cutNglue, Oct 4, 2011.

1. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

Oct 4, 2011

I'm studying for my comprehensive exam for my grad degree. I've been thinking a lot lately about my own study habits and strategies I use in everyday life.

Strengths
    *CONTINUOUS GOAL SETTING
    *ORGANIZE INFORMATION IN MULTIPLE WAYS
    ~I use lots of lists, tables, self created organizers, comparisons, calculations, etc.
    ~I streamline and reorganize by rewriting notes, etc.
    *DISCUSSIONS
    ~I definitely need lots of chatter to clarify my thinking.
    ~I don't envy people who are kind enough to listen to me. :)
    *SPEED READ FOR KEY POINTS AND GLOBAL UNDERSTANDING
    ~I'm great at looking for key concepts, finding what I need, grabbing the bigger message, etc. It does sometimes lose me on the details though.
    *RESEARCH
    ~I said growing up I would have flunked school if I hadn't been a strong reader since I couldn't hear what went on in class.
    ~I am persistent and stubborn. I will find out what I want to know through multiple sources from informal to formal.
    *PERSONAL CONNECTIONS
    ~I'm great at making personal connections, assimilating new information through stories and making analogies to process and clarify what I am learning.

N-O-T My Bag of Tricks
    *CONCISE
    ~I'm definitely a wordy girl that has to go through lots of weeds to find the gem.
    *DETAIL-ORIENTED
    ~Asking me to cite sources, know dates, etc. is probably not going to come easy for me.
    *TIME MANAGEMENT
    ~Cram studying is not my thing and often it takes me longer than it should to wade through things in spite of my speed reading, etc.

Who are YOU as a learner? Does this spill over in your daily life as well? Your teaching?

3. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Oct 4, 2011