Whisper phones

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by MissAnt, Aug 14, 2010.

1. MissAnt

MissAnt Comrade

Aug 14, 2010

I'd really love a classroom set of whisper phones but as a new teacher I know I can't afford to buy a set. Have you ever made your own? I'd love details!

If you haven't made them but use them, how do you have your students use them?

During student teaching my students used them for quiet partner reading but I'd think they'd be even more useful during independent reading.

3. SunnyReader

SunnyReader Companion

Aug 14, 2010

I was going to ask this same question. interested to hear answers

4. terptoteacher

terptoteacher Connoisseur

Aug 14, 2010

I made my own.....we had just installed a sprinkler system so we had the adhesieve and the other purpple stuff..
    I got a long piece of pvc pipe and enough elbow joints....It wasn't too pricey...way better than buying a set of pre made phones!

5. iloveschool

iloveschool Companion

Aug 14, 2010

Mine were made from pvc pipe. The ends were curved joint peices of pvc pipe. Very easy and innexpensive to make. Just get a long peice of pvc and cut into smaller peices (the part they hold on to) then glue the corner joints on with pvc compound. I'm sure the local harware store will even cut the pipe for you! Good luck!

6. TeacherApr

TeacherApr Groupie

Aug 14, 2010

I found some in my classroom. Tried to use them with my kids but all they did was take them apart and play with them....

7. teach1st

teach1st Comrade

Aug 14, 2010