Which offer?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Teacherella, Jun 13, 2008.

1. Teacherella

Teacherella Habitué

Jun 13, 2008

I'm expecting two offers (possibly three) and I don't know which way to go. But, I won't have this problem if I get an offer from my top choice (I find out next week). Anyway, just say I had to choose between these two offers. Which one would you choose and why? Keep in mind that I am a new teacher with a litte experience under my belt (permanent sub and summer school teacher), but never had my own class for a full year.

#1 - Long-term subbing job for Sept-Dec. at a great public school (where I actually work now).

#2 - Full-time/full-year teaching job (my own classroom) at a Christian school with very low pay and not in such a great area (low-income and close to a high crime area).

Thanks!

3. cMcD

cMcD Groupie

Jun 13, 2008

The ultimate decision is yours. I would take the full time/full year position because it's a definite. You become more marketable after a year experience. I realized that this year. I got into a great school corp. with one year of experience. You can use this year to get into a better corp. next year.

But, if you want to work your way into the district you've been working in then go ahead and take the long-term sub. job.

4. nayelismom

nayelismom Rookie

Jun 13, 2008

#2, if $ is not too big of an issue. It's your own class.

5. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jun 13, 2008

I agree with cMcD, it depends on your end goal. If the long-term sub will help you get into the public district, and it's reasonable there will be subbing positions available after Dec., go with that one. But, if you're looking for experience and you can afford it, the private school will give you that.

6. Teacherella

Teacherella Habitué

Jun 13, 2008

My ultimate goal is to work in a public school, but there is a possibility that we will move in the future so it doesn't have to be this particular public school.