Which job?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Shiloh17, Aug 10, 2015.

1. Shiloh17

Shiloh17 Companion

Aug 10, 2015

I recently was offered a PCA position from a district I interviewed at a few weeks ago. Instead of it being at the elementary school I interviewed at, the student they want to place me with is at a Quaker School. They feel the environment and class size fits the student. He is in 4th grade and suffers from seizures while he sleeps which causes him learning delays. The head of special Ed called me and left me a message, stating I would not be in a dangerous situation that the student has no behavioral issues, just needs help with skills and refocusing. Currently, I am a lead preschool teacher at a private school (Part time I only work until 11:30AM or 1PM) I like where I work, but money is an issue. I am moving and getting married this year...The PCA pay is slightly more but full time, which increases my salary a lot. This position can also potentially lead to summer employment.

So do I stay at the preschool for another year or accept this position? SO nervous I will make the wrong decision. BTW, I am certified PREK-4thGRADE. 2 years experience in the preschool classroom.

Thanks reading...sorry I am rambling...

3. gr3teacher

gr3teacher Phenom

Aug 10, 2015

Is your ultimate goal to be a teacher in the public school system? If so, I'd think the PCA role would be better.

4. alilisa

alilisa Habitué

Aug 10, 2015

You should take the PCA job. It would help you to get your foot in the door, if you wanted to become an elementary teacher. It would help give you experience working with a child with special needs. It will also help to give you a variety of experiences at a different age level of students. Just my :2cents:

5. waterfall

waterfall Maven

Aug 10, 2015