Which electives should I teache next year?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Linguist92021, May 18, 2013.

1. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

May 18, 2013

This year I'm teaching 2 class periods of geography. These are actually requirements, but we give students electives credit. Either way, I wasn't supposed to teach them, so after I finish this year I have to chose something else. My credential is English, and my P offered me to get certified in Social Studies, it's not the CSET I would take, it's a class they would pay for, and it would authorize me to teach social studies in alternative school settings.
    It would be worth it for the geography portion, but I wouldn't want to get stuck teaching history later. I dislike history as a subject, I'm not good at it, and it would be a disservice to students if I taught it (history, geography would be fine).

So we were brainstorming, and we came up with one option, but I want to brainstorm more before I commit. It can be anything, I can create my own course as well.

option 1. Current events.
    Students: it would be very beneficial for them, because most students don't know what's happening around the world, or even in this country. One student told me she though the Boston and Texas bombings were done by North Koreans. :dizzy:
    Curriculum: we would watch the news (either CBS national news, or the CNN student news), discuss, I would chose 2-3 topics, we would research it in depth, discuss, write about it, etc. If students miss classes, make up work or even extra credit can be easily arranged. This could be interesting for the students, could go in a lot of directions, I can tailor things to their interest level as well.