Where were you 25 years ago when Challenger blew up?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by penguinpc, Jan 28, 2011.

1. penguinpc

penguinpc Comrade

Jan 28, 2011

3. DizneeTeachR

DizneeTeachR Virtuoso

Jan 28, 2011

Elementary school. Had a sub. They announced over the PA. Our sub's daughter worked for NASA... I remember her (the teacher) being really upset as well!!! Didn't really see it until we got home from school.

4. Ranchwife

Ranchwife Companion

Jan 28, 2011

I was a student at the school where I am now teaching. We were in the gym setting up for the science fair. I still remember just where I was standing when the principal came into the gym and announced to all of us what had happened. Sad day in our nation.

5. INteacher

INteacher Aficionado

Jan 28, 2011

I was a newlywed washing the dishes at the sink of our first apartment in Chicago. I didn't go to my college classes that afternoon but sat in front of the tv all afternoon.

6. midwestteacher

midwestteacher Cohort

Jan 28, 2011

I was in 6th grade. I am from the community where the shuttle pilot, Mike Smith was from. He was actually married to my dad's cousin. We were all watching the launch because he was a hometown hero. It was rough.

7. smalltowngal

smalltowngal Multitudinous

Jan 28, 2011

I was 4 and in daycare so I don't remember much. Watching video of it though still makes me tear up.

midwest~how sad for the whole community.

8. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jan 28, 2011

I was in junior high and we watched it. I was in complete shock because I had seen Challenger on the launch pad at Cape Canaveral when I toured it two years before. My parents were absolutely devastated because they were so excited for McAuliffe. One of their colleagues was a finalist for being the teacher on the flight (he was the top pick for PA).

9. silverspoon65

silverspoon65 Enthusiast

Jan 28, 2011