Where to go? What to do?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by texasteacher4, Dec 1, 2013.

1. texasteacher4

texasteacher4 New Member

Dec 1, 2013

I'm a first year teacher at a district in TX and I am miserable. I am teaching at an elementary school that opened this year and really not liking it. I student taught in this district last year at a different school and loved the atmosphere, but that particular school had no job openings. I love the kids that attend my school now, but I am reeeeeeally struggling with the administration. Even the veteran teachers that are teaching at this new school are not happy. I am always very respectful and professional in all matters, but have no luck in ever feeling like I am doing anything right in the eyes of the principal. Needless to say, I am NOT going to be teaching at this school next year.

My biggest concern is this: I feel as though I had no warnings about the negative attitude and disposition of the principal when I stepped into this teaching position at this school. I know that I am qualified to get a position at a different school next year, but how can I find out about a school's atmosphere/ principal's disposition and temperament before accepting a job at another school where I might just have to wait out another agonizing year?

3. ready2learn

ready2learn Comrade

Dec 1, 2013

That is hard. I am looking forward to hearing what other people say. I have interviewed places where I could tell I would not want to work for the principal when he or she was interviewing me. Other principals masked it better and I have accepted jobs at schools where I later found out that administration wasn't the best.