Where do you advertise to find more students to tutor?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by TennisPlayer, Mar 23, 2011.

1. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Mar 23, 2011

I'm on a few websites but since I work as a Private Tutor, I need to think of good places to leave my business cards. I can't at the library at least on the bulletin boards. I was thinking of just standing outside and handing some cards out to those with kids but not sure if that'll be okay with the library. I do see political things outside every now and then. I was also wanting to at schools but when I called a few schools they hesitated but sounded like they could put some out for me. I just want to see results of putting my cards places where students go so I can get more business!

(I was so happy to work with a new student yesterday. The hour flew by so we worked for 1 1/2 hr. I was so happy to help her with a concept she had been guessing on all along which I had a hunch about but waited for her to tell me that! I taught her how to compare fractions without guessing and she got it! It's so nice to work with happy kids who are especially at risk of grade retention like I'm doing.)

So any ideas of other places to advertise? I love my new business cards that I just ordered from Vista Print!

3. Ms. I

Ms. I Maven

Mar 23, 2011

Leave cards lying around all over. I have a work @ home business that I advertise for. You can leave stacks in eateries, other businesses, go to hotel lobbies, etc. Do you know if you're allowed to leave cards in your teacher lounge at work?

What I advertise for, I don't need to give my name or ANY other personal info, so I feel free to leave them more places. I even have a 1-800 #, which you can get so all these strangers don't have your home or cell #.

Here's something I found on a site regarding marketing one's business :

- Run newspaper ads (consistently and even weekly if possible)