Where do Teachers buy professional clothes?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by teacher girl, Jul 22, 2013.

1. teacher girl

teacher girl Comrade

Jul 22, 2013

I am a first year sped teacher, I want to make a good impression, not sure if I should wear suits everyday or if I should wear casual business attire.

But I want to know, What stores should I find my clothes ( Macys, Target, New York Lerner, etc)? Where do teachers find clothes of good quality? ( I want to look professional as if I were a principal or something)

3. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 22, 2013

I've never been in a school where ANYONE wears suits, but of course your school environment may different. I'd say, though, you won't need to wear a suit every day to make a good impression. I'll let others provide clothing advice. :) (I'm no good at that.)

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Jul 22, 2013

My best teacher clothes (from when I was still in a traditional classroom and now when I attend professional meetings and student-attended events) are from Macy's. I like the selection, and I love that their petite section has pants the correct length for my short legs. I'm a big fan of DKNY in particular for its business-casual polish.

Honestly, I would try on Target clothing and move around in the dressing room before you buy it. I've found the tops are too low and cannot be worn without a tank top beneath them. Very disappointing.

5. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Jul 22, 2013

I usually go to JC Penney. I find that Learner NY clothes are cut a little too close for teaching and if I go a size up they are too big. I don't wear a suit, but I teach in a tropical climate and my principal doesn't even wear suits. Kohls is good too.

6. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Jul 22, 2013

I shop at Loft, NY and Co, and Gap mainly. I've never taught in a suit, but then my P is usually found in just pants, shirt, and tie.

7. BumbleB

BumbleB Habitué

Jul 22, 2013