When you have a fantastic kid and a not so fantastic parent. I need advice.

Discussion in 'General Education' started by PEteacher07, Nov 22, 2015.

?

Should I attempt to contact the father?

1. Yes

2. No

Results are only viewable after voting.
  1. PEteacher07

PEteacher07 Cohort

Nov 22, 2015

This is on a personal note for me. I am a PE teacher, but I am also a coach outside of school. I had an athlete a couple of years ago that I enjoyed coaching. He was a great leader on the team and the best player because he grew up playing with his dad and had an understanding of the game beyond the average 12 year old. The other boys on the team liked him too. I always rotate kids through playing time so even though he was the strongest player, there were times I took him out of the game. He never cared and said he wanted to be a good teammate. The young man aged out of my team so he couldn't play last year, but now my team is moving up another age division and he could play with us again.

The issue is his dad. His dad is not the best person. He had the entitled mindset that because we wanted his son to play with us, that he should get a free ride and not pay. We are a club and you pay dues to play and I get paid to coach. This is not a charity, it is a business and we do fundraising and have other opportunities to help cover the fees. His parents did none of the fundraising and paid little towards his dues. I picked the boy up for practices and tourney's at his house if needed. His dad wasn't a supportive parent in the stands and would get mad if his son wasn't playing his best and holler at him. He was not a good representative of what a parent in our organization should be. We want our parents to support their players and let the coaches do the coaching.