When to Stop?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Want2Educate, Jun 9, 2011.

1. Want2Educate

Want2Educate Rookie

Jun 9, 2011

Hello Everyone,

I graduated in 2009 with a K-6 degree and am certified but due to some moving since then I have missed out on the last two hiring seasons. This year I want to make it my year and get a teaching position.

Last August I moved to a new area and found out that a teacher in the area had walked out of her classroom in the middle of the day declaring she was through. I immediately introduced myself to the principal and scored an interview. I felt the interview went really, really well and that I may have gotten the job. However, the principal called and stated that the teacher had decided she might want her job back and that because she was tenured the school board had final say and she would keep me posted. Long story short, the teacher decided she had 3 years until retirement and took the job back. The principal called me and explained the situation and encouraged me to apply for some interim positions that they would have opening up in the spring.

I got a part time job at a retail store and they are not understanding of life outside work. I've had to beg to get a day off to go to the doctor. Unfortunately, the job market out here is tight and I can't really find a new job that's more understanding so I didn't get to apply for any of the interim positions when spring came.