when to change jobs?!?!

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by brejohnson88, Jun 21, 2012.

1. brejohnson88

brejohnson88 Comrade

Jun 21, 2012

I have been a special education early childhood teacher for the last 2 years. I love the kids I have and I love my classroom. it is excatly everything ive ever wanted. However, I have some issues with my boss listening to me and just not seeing eye to eye on stuff. She thinks im a great teacher- she gives me excellent reports everytime i get my evaluations. However, she never comes by and doesnt really seem to care. She showed up to a meeting once when i was asking for a personal aide for a child and gave her advice on a child without knowing anything about them! After being legally over my numbers this year and not getting any relief, I finally decided I deserve better. I applied to a job in a nearby district. Unfourtantly it was already filled.

I get a call today from a priniciapl in a nearby district and was wondering if I would be interested in an opening. She doesnt know if I am qualified to teach it, however told me she would check and we set up a time on monday to talk. when would you decide to change jobs? Would it be only a money issue or would it be if your truely happy or not? I am happy, but not 100 percent. I know if i do get offered this position, i would make more money, not sure on how much. my friends husband told me never accept a new job offer unless you make 30 percent more...but this is the education field and that cannot be true for this field. any advice?

3. mopar

mopar Multitudinous

Jun 21, 2012

In this economy, if I had some security in my job, I would not switch jobs unless it was my dream job that I was moving to. However, I think that if you are considering switching positions, it is worth it to at least interview and then make your decision when you know a little more.

4. brejohnson88

brejohnson88 Comrade

Jun 21, 2012