When the teacher before you leaves a TON of stuff in the room...

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Toast, Jul 13, 2012.

1. Toast

Toast Companion

Jul 13, 2012

So........ I got a new job at a new school that I am super excited about.

The last teacher that was in the room left a lot of "stuff specific to the grade level" behind.

As in......random posters and boarders in the cupboards, empty containers, 2 file cabinets jam packed full of random files and transparencies that are very disorganized. There are also random stacks of copies everywhere (100 problem math fact sheets).

Some of the stuff is 4th grade specific, but a lot of it is just random stuff. If I was a first year teacher, perhaps I would be grateful, but since I have been teaching for 5 years now, I have stuff of my own too and have no where to put it!

I would just purge everything, but this teacher moved only across the hall from me!

What would you do/have you done in this situation?

Or have you been someone who has left tons of stuff behind thinking you were helping the next person coming in?

Honestly, I think she is just leaving all the stuff behind that she doesn't need and is too lazy to clean out her old room. Just my opinion.

3. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Jul 13, 2012

Since she left the stuff, it is your to do with as you see fit. See if you can give bunches of it away to other teachers and throw away what you can't use.

4. JustMe

JustMe Virtuoso

Jul 13, 2012

The person before left me a COMPLETE DISASTER to the point I was truly, truly shocked. And before long, angry.

The number of runs to the dumpster I had to make on my own time exceeded six (I was counting to vent to my husband, then stopped)...and these are those very large cans on wheels. It was gross and unacceptable. I can't express how much of a disaster it was.

5. DrivingPigeon

DrivingPigeon Phenom

Jul 13, 2012