When students use Inappropiate Classroom Langauge!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by NewTeacher05, Mar 24, 2014.

1. NewTeacher05

NewTeacher05 Rookie

Mar 24, 2014

I'm a first year Kindergarten Teacher. Today a boy turned in a note to me with F*** you written on one side and I want to have S*E*X written on the other. The boy told me another boy wrote it, but the boy in question usually is pretty good about behavior (minor talking) and knows better than to write words like that. I questioned the student and he said he did not have anything to do with it. However after school I decided to match up the handwriting and it matched this student's perfectly. I will question him tomorrow. But how do I deal with this? I will contact his parents, but I don't even feel right repeating what he wrote to them. Should I just say he wrote an inappropriate note and to come in so I can show them?

Last edited by a moderator: Mar 24, 2014
  3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Mar 24, 2014

I'd show it to administration before calling parents in.

4. Sarge

Sarge Enthusiast

Mar 24, 2014

I don't know how many times the culprit has been a student who supposedly "knows better." Sure, they might know right from wrong, but sometimes wrong is a lot more fun. If that were not the case, Las Vegas would not exist. Besides, it's often the more advanced students who have "advanced" far enough to know those words and how to spell them.

Of course he didn't. Over time, you will become very good at extracting confessions out of six year olds.

But you still might need a confession depending on how perfect the parents think their child is. At my school, they would sell him out in no time. They have no illusions about their children being angels. At other schools, the culture might be different.

Good. Try to get the confession. Say, in a very stern, and strict voice "I know what you did but you have to tell me!"