When Parents Age... (dillema?)

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by Starista, Nov 20, 2010.

1. Starista

Starista Cohort

Nov 20, 2010

Hey there folks,

Long story short(ened):

In late 1996, my father fell very ill. It doctors about 2 months to decide what was wrong with him. In the late autumn months, his personality drastically changed. He began to act with impulsivity and displayed careless/inappropriate/reckless behavior -- both of which were out of character for him.

Around December he began to complain of serious headaches. My father had never taken a "sick day" from work in his life and had a huge tolerance for pain, so my mother took it very seriously and booked several doctor's visits.

At this time my older sister was living in California just starting out her life as a young adult (she was 23 y/o) and I was a freshman in college out of state (18 y/o).

When I came home on Holiday Semester Break, my father was hospitalized and spent 2 weeks in a hospital in our home state of Boston. His behavior was erratic and unusual. He was a "mystery." Finally, late January, he received the diagnosis of a type of "encephalopathy," which basically means a disease or disorder in one's brain.

When he came home, he was a changed man. As my mama has said countless times "this is not the man I married." My father had episodes where he'd enter a situation with a sense of boasted entitlement - for example, he walked into his work and angrily demanded why his medical leave of absence was delayed, etc.

Anger and impatience were the hallmark points of his personality from that point on.

It has been 14 years since he was sick with a baffling illness that has left him a changed man. I am honestly not sure how my mama deals with his mood swings, immaturity, and irrationality.