When is too early to do Job fairs and a question about Houston ISD

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by Geologygirl, Jul 4, 2013.

1. Geologygirl

Geologygirl Comrade

Jul 4, 2013

Hi everyone. I am in the summer before I do my student teaching semester (Sept through the end of January), and I was wondering, would it be too early to go to a teacher job fair? I noticed on Craigslist that Houston ISD is holding one at a local junior college here in Southern California. It says that they want recent graduate or experienced teachers there, but it also says they are looking to hire for the 2013-2014 school year. I have my bachelors, but since I won't have my credential until the end of January do you think it’s too early to send in my resume? I am hoping they might be looking to hire someone midyear.

I am really interested in this district because I grew up in that part of Texas and still have family there so the move would not be as much of a hassle to move back.

Also, I have a question about Houston ISD. I have noticed that they are showing up at a bunch of job fairs in Southern California lately. They have even put out ongoing job listings on my universities job board. Does this mean Houston ISD hard up for teachers? Why are they coming to Southern California to look for them if there are so many teachers jobless? Did a bunch of teachers quit because or something the district did? Is it a nice district to work for?

3. teacherintexas

teacherintexas Maven

Jul 4, 2013

When I was considering the area, I did not apply to HISD.

If you want to be a mid-year hire, I'd wait until you have your certification and everything ready before applying. It wouldn't hurt to go to the job fair though to make contacts.

4. KinderCowgirl

KinderCowgirl Phenom

Jul 5, 2013