When is the best time to apply?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by glitzeyes, Jan 14, 2011.

1. glitzeyes

glitzeyes Rookie

Jan 14, 2011

ATTENTION: ALL EMPLOYED TEACHERS
    Hi I am a new teacher looking for a position for next school year. I am currently working as a LTS. I am in the process of filling out applications for next year. I want them turned in as close to when a position is open as I am afarid if I turn them in too far inadvance or before a position is avaialble it won't even be looked at or will be lost when a position does pop up. However, I am wondering when is the best time to put my applications in for the next school year? When do schools usually start hiring? Is there a certain time of the year each school has to know their need for the next year?

ALSO: On the job applications they ask for my last four jobs, I can include those no problem, but then some of my experience with kids will be cut. I don't have any job gaps though, which is good. However, since I am a new teacher some of the jobs aren't teaching or kid related of course. I have a print out of my entire job history should I attach that to the application or refrian and just answer exactly what is asked as my resume lists everything?

Any help from those who really know would be appreciated!! Thank you :)

3. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jan 14, 2011

We start thinking about next year's faculty in March.

4. webmistress

webmistress Devotee

Jan 14, 2011

(Not employed but once was)

It's hard to balance public vs private. I notice that private schools do fill up very fast (as Alice said hers consider the next year school year in March). Public schools however post openings all the way until September and even October after the school year has started.

If you're applying to private, I'd definitely try to have all private school apps in by April. I remember calling in early May one year and they were all fully staffed for the next year.