When Do We Get to Teach?!

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Amers, Feb 29, 2008.

1. Amers

Amers Cohort

Feb 29, 2008

Does anyone else find themselves wondering this? Today, I dealt with four disipline issues before 9am! I tracked down missing homework assignments and gathered absent work for students, dealt with paperwork, paperwork, paperwork. Then, I got to end the day with another disipline issue and a parent phone call about....a disipline issue! :mad: In the last two days, I have been doctor, therapist, mom, judge, jury, police officer, and of course baby-sitter......but when do I get to be the teacher? I feel like I spend so much time dealing with outside issues that there's not much time left over to actually teach.

Anyone else feeling this way?

3. wldywall

wldywall Connoisseur

Feb 29, 2008

Yes there are days I feel the same way. I am a high school teacher though, so its not as bad for me as it is probably for you.

Although alternative ed high school students act like fifth graders........

4. WaterfallLady

WaterfallLady Enthusiast

Feb 29, 2008

I feel the exact same way.

5. little317

little317 Groupie

Mar 1, 2008

I feel for you. I have numerous distractions all day long.
    Miss M___ the computer is frozen.
    Miss M___ I have a tummy ache.
    Then tattling, arguing, interuptions from the front office, assemblies, fire drills, etc.

To help cut down on some of the things you need to do, try to come up with a student job for the kids. For example, you said you had to gather missing work for absent kids. Is there a place to put extra papers for students that didn't show? Could you have a secretary job for a student and they can do these kinds of things? It would help free up your time and it would give the kids some responsibilities. Of course, you would pick your most responsible students first to do the job.

6. JaimeMarie

JaimeMarie Moderator

Mar 1, 2008