when do interviews start?

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by pommom, May 4, 2016.

1. pommom

pommom Comrade

May 4, 2016

I was teacher job searching in the end of the summer the past year because I didn't get my bachelors until August (I did not land a teaching job) this is my first time experiencing teacher job searching in the beginning of the summer. I know there are many teachers looking for other jobs that have not told their principals yet, but for the most part, are the contracts in yet for current teachers? Right now, are principals waiting to interview applicants until the school year is over? It's like crickets here and I am waiting for an interview somewhere...

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

May 4, 2016

Now is the time to get your packages put to EVERY public, private and charter within a reasonable commute. Yes, teachers are finding out about their positions for next year and schools are looking at their staffing needs.

4. luv2teach444

luv2teach444 Companion

May 4, 2016

It's been crickets here for me for 3 yrs now. I was the same - first year out I got my certification after hiring time & then the next yr I got 1 interview & then the next I took a reading intervention spot 'cause it was my only chance to work besides subbing. So here I am going on 4 yrs out & still trying to make connections!
    Where I am currently the principal was interviewing today & will be again tomorrow. Here jobs are all posted for 2 weeks online & the principals are supposed to wait until the jobs are down before interviewing -but it doesn't always happen. And the jobs open first to teachers in the county who want to transfer then they are posted. Our first wave of jobs posted early this yr - 2 wks ago. Teachers here won't get their pink slips until the week before school is out - which is in 15 days.

5. bella84

bella84 Aficionado

May 4, 2016