When do districts hire?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by FCLaura, Jan 2, 2010.

1. FCLaura

FCLaura Rookie

Jan 2, 2010

Hi Everyone,

I am in my 2nd year teaching (maternity sub) in Washington State, and my husband (also a teacher) and I are considering moving to another state (ANY state, preferably rural) with a better market for teachers. We want to make sure we are checking for jobs when hiring is happening and that we aren't too late. When do the districts in your state start hiring? Thanks!

Laura

P.S. Here in WA, a few do some early hiring in late May/early June, almost none in July, a lot in August. Some districts even hired after school had started in September and October!

3. janlee

janlee Devotee

Jan 2, 2010

My district hires when they have an opening. It could be tomorrow or the day before school starts. My district is about 50 minutes outside of NYC. We are considered a suburban/rural area. This year there were 3 openings in my school (K-4) Over 500 applications came in. Good luck.

4. gottagoodgig

gottagoodgig Companion

Jan 2, 2010

Northern Colorado. Vast majority is late April through May. Some June. Almost no July. A few last minute folks in August.

I chatted with a lady from Byers, Colorado (50 miles east of Denver...rural farm town) a few years ago and they even provide housing for teachers. They have a small apartment building. Just a bit down I-70 to the big city of Denver. You can google "byers colorado school district" and find information. We chose a small city (Fort Collins) instead.

Colorado is really an amazing state. Wonderful climate. Amazing people. Check us out! ( I should get some sort of free kickback from the state for a free plug!) ;)

Good luck to you guys!

5. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

Jan 2, 2010

Long Island NY.

Some start as early as March. Most around here start to interview around Easter time-- late March, early April if they know of vacancies.