When did you know you were a teacher?

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by VANewbie, Aug 18, 2010.

1. VANewbie

VANewbie Devotee

Aug 18, 2010

I was watching Oprah today and a question came up to one of the guests on when he knew he was a MAN. You know sometimes boys say I am the man of the house and then one day you really realize you were a boy and are now a man.

So it got me thinking. When did you know you were a teacher? As a first year teacher last year I applied, interviewed and got the job, told friends and family that I was a teacher but did not really feel like a teacher.

I knew I was a teacher when I met my parents at Back to School night and had to stand up there and be confident and talk about various things that we would do over the year. The parents were looking at me(this young fresh graduate) for advice and had questions for me.

Sometimes it hits some of us later in the year or maybe early.

Curious.

3. Unbeknownst

Unbeknownst Cohort

Aug 18, 2010

This week in in-service.

I called my mom to tell her too. I'm the first in my family to go to college, so I knew it would mean a lot to her to hear of my "professional" experiences.

It did. :)

4. teacherSMK

teacherSMK Habitué

Aug 18, 2010

I think when I was hired at my current school, five years ago. It was a brand new, Christian school and we had a total of 15 students on day one. But when we all sat at our desks and I passed out assesments and they all picked up their pencils and began...I don't know, but it really was one of those moments I will never forget. I AM a teacher....goosebumps and all. :0)

5. Ima Teacher

Ima Teacher Maven

Aug 18, 2010

I didn't consider teaching until I was a junior in college. I was in the social work program, and I did some field work in an adult education program. I really enjoyed it much more than my other social work experience, so I ended up changing my major.