When can students take notes without help?

Discussion in 'Middle School / Junior High' started by porque_pig, Aug 22, 2011.

1. porque_pig

porque_pig Comrade

Aug 22, 2011

I am in my second week as a middle school teacher. I'm LOVING my new job, but because I have no prior experience with this age group, I was unprepared for some of the difficulties my students have with note-taking. I've found that my students will NOT write so much as a word in their notes unless I say, "Take out your binders, open to the 'Class notes' section, title the notes ####, and write the following things..." I've been teaching at the college level for the last few years, so it never occurred to me that middle schoolers would need more guidance in the realm of note-taking, but I'm willing to learn what to do to help them. They also want me to specify if they should take notes in print or cursive, write with pen or pencil, use an MLA heading, etc.

My 8th graders are learning about describing the weather in Spanish. When students complained that they didn't copy down the weather phrases when I wrote them on the board the first time, I re-wrote them. At the end of class, I gave them a homework assignment that involved using some of their Spanish vocabulary to describe the weather (just a 2-3 sentence journal entry). Several students came up to me distraught because they didn't have the phrases in their notes. I wrote them on the board TWICE today! I already told my students that anything on the board should end up in their notes, but they haven't used that advice.