What's the hardest thing you have experienced as a new teacher?

Discussion in 'New Teachers' started by AFine, Feb 11, 2012.

1. AFine

AFine Rookie

Feb 11, 2012

I was surprised how many extra meetings I have as a new teacher! I also struggle with doubting myself. Talking to other experienced teachers for feedback gives me more confidence that I am doing to right thing.

3. dgpiaffeteach

dgpiaffeteach Aficionado

Feb 12, 2012

Right now it's watching my previously sane seniors lose their minds. A group of them just vandalized our old elementary building when they were supposed to be helping clean it up.

4. catnfiddle

catnfiddle Moderator

Feb 12, 2012

I'm in my 4th year and still feel new, but my biggest adjustment in my first couple of years was getting used to the observations. It felt like I had to keep reapplying for my job. Thankfully, I've grown used to it and see it as a way to keep evolving my work.

5. Linguist92021

Linguist92021 Phenom

Feb 12, 2012

I think one of the best things a new teacher can do is find a few veteran teachers at the school and try to learn from them as much as possible. Most of these teachers will be kind and willing to help out someone new. Why go through making mistakes and learn from them, f you can avoid some by learning from someone else's mistakes? Some things take me weeks or months to figure out, but an experienced teacher can shed light on things, saving me tons of time, energy and frustrations.

When i was a student teacher, I was very lucky that a lot of teachers were willing to listen to me and give me advice. These teachers were awesome with years of experience. I was doing better than one new teacher, because all she did was complain and vent, but never really asked for advice. She actually got fired mid year.
    At my current school I also feel blessed that everyone is very supportive and they want to see me succeed.

6. MzMooreTeaches

MzMooreTeaches Cohort

Feb 12, 2012