What's the best way to take over a class?

Discussion in 'Special Education Archives' started by jennyjenjen, Aug 25, 2006.

1. jennyjenjen

jennyjenjen Rookie

Aug 25, 2006

Hi, I'm just got hired at the middle school where I was an aide. They hired me as an intern SPED teacher for their 8th grade Language Arts and ELD program. For the past month, the kids have had a substitute while the school hired a teacher.

I have been in the class for 3 days and I feel like I have no control. I have been sending kids out of my class to time out like crazy! I wrote a few referrals, but I still feel like I can't keep them under control. I am arguing with kids constantly and I feel like my authority is ALWAYS being challenged. To make matters worse, I see many of the same students twice a day, once for Language Arts and once for their extra reading class.

I think it was hard for the students because when I worked as an aide I was always friendly to them because it wasn't my position to constantly reprimand them. On my first day as their teacher I handed out a syllabus with my goals and expectations and asked that they sign and have their parents sign as well. I also gave a syllabus quiz to make sure that the students understood my rules.

I started calling parents during and after classes but it is hard because many of the students do not have phones or correct numbers on file with the school. Besides sending my whole class out every day, how can I gain control? Now the kids are asking to be sent out when they walk in the door.

I also feel overwhelmed because I have no clue on how to teach Language Arts. I have a whole shelf on the book shelf that is filled with guides and supplement to the texts, I don't even know where to begin...

Sorry this is so long.

Jen Jen

3. MissFrizzle

MissFrizzle Virtuoso

Aug 25, 2006

Jen,