What would you do...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by jteach89, Aug 14, 2017.

1. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

Aug 14, 2017

Hey everyone, would you resign from a teaching position at the beginning of the school year or mid year if you were unhappy with administrations lack of professionalism? I know its not a lot of information lol but on what grounds would you leave a school mid year or even at the beginning of the year after meeting parents? I'm currently not happy with how administrators approached me regarding a situation. At the same time, I would feel guilty for leaving the school year so abruptly. I've been working at this school for 4 years and I wish I would have made choices earlier but I feel it's time for me to leave. What would you do? Any advice? Thanks

3. czacza

czacza Multitudinous

Aug 14, 2017

I'd suggest you work on growing a thicker skin for the time being. Could be this administrator lacks in social skills or talks that way to everyone. You can't quit every time an administrator acts stupidly...because it happens often enough. LOL.
    If you have a mentor, trusted colleague or union rep in whom you can confide, you might feel better and there might be some recourse (you didn't give enough info).
    Good luck!

4. TrademarkTer

TrademarkTer Groupie

Aug 14, 2017

There can be serious consequences for breaking contract. Unless they are being abusive, I would just avoid contact with them as much as possible. Lay low and try not to interact with them unless necessary. Just stay in your room and teach your heart out. After all, you're not there for them, you're there for the children.

5. jteach89

jteach89 Companion

Aug 14, 2017