What will you do differently this year?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by missrebecca, Jul 17, 2014.

1. missrebecca

missrebecca Comrade

Jul 17, 2014

Now that it's almost time for school to start, I'm curious what new things everyone might be doing for the upcoming school year! :D It can be something you're trying for the first time, or something you stopped doing and want to try again. Will you alter your behavior management system? Your seating arrangement? Your library set up? Are you trying new teaching methods or strategies? Differentiation? Assessment? Transitions? New furniture? New wall decorations?

This year, I want to implement the book "How Full is Your Bucket," to help build a stronger classroom community. I also want to implement Daily 3 math. :)

3. raynepoe

raynepoe Companion

Jul 17, 2014

I am a second year teacher and I am so excited about going into this year with some sort of a plan!

My room looks so much better, I am doing a theme...."60s/Peace. Love, and Learning " and I have tie dye everywhere!

I work at a very low SES school, and I am going to be tougher... I learned my first year how badly they crave boundaries and strong support. Last year, I was always cutting kids breaks, and they were really miserable and confused. I will say what I mean, and mean what I say...

I have been reading and researching Whole Brain Teaching.

I am going to give my students more work and not entertain them as much.

I know how to plan better for my kids and I understand the school culture better, so this will be a great year!

4. agdamity

agdamity Fanatic

Jul 17, 2014

I want to keep my desk clean so I can actually work at it.