What was your moment?

Discussion in 'General Education' started by teaching4God, Jan 9, 2010.

1. teaching4God

teaching4God Cohort

Jan 9, 2010

I am not sure if this should be here or on the "chitchat" board, but was there a specific moment when you thought to yourself, "I am a good teacher" or did that just kind of come from within?

3. Hoot Owl

Hoot Owl Aficionado

Jan 9, 2010

Seriously I was five. I was in first grade and every day after school I went home and taught my younger brother and sister how to read and do math. They were both fluent readers before they ever started school.

4. mmswm

mmswm Moderator

Jan 9, 2010

When I was in undergrad, a professor kept trying to convince me that I wanted to be a tutor in the math lab. I kept resisting, and he kept campaigning. What finally got through to me was when he said, "I can see your logic, not mine, on your classmates' tests." I will always be appriciative of that professor. My experiences as a tutor helped make me the teacher I am today.

5. Cerek

Cerek Aficionado

Jan 9, 2010

My moment occurred almost exactly two years ago.

In 2006, my ex told me she wanted out of our marriage after 13 years.
    In 2007, my father passed away after a year of declining health.
    In 07/2007, I changed jobs and got (what I thought) would be the "secure" job I would have until retirement, but this was also when dad's condition became critically worse.
    On 01/04/08, I was terminated from my "secure" job after only 4 months, in which I received almost no training.
    On 01/09/08 (two years ago today), I became extremely ill and had to be hospitalized. This led to major surgery. Complications led to a second surgery. Complications from that surgery led to a 3 day coma (and administration of Last Rites).