What to Wear?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Jacqui, Nov 17, 2008.

1. Jacqui

Jacqui Rookie

Nov 17, 2008

I'm an ECE student at the University of Georgia, and lately I've been trying to start my "teacher wardrobe" as I have the money to shop, etc. I'd like to teach first grade, but may possibly teach second or kindergarten, depending on job openings after I graduate. What kind of clothes are appropriate? I've never been great at getting dressed: I'm a tee-shirt and jeans kinda girl. Though I love the professional look, I'm not sure if I'd be over-dressed in a first grade classroom rocking a power suit from NY and Co. So what kinds of clothes do you suggest I buy for the lower elementary age??

Also as a side-note. I'm 5'5" and adore flats... but are pumps okay on occasion for such a young classroom, or will I want to stick to my flats to be more on their level?

3. mom2ohc

mom2ohc Habitué

Nov 17, 2008

I wear flat shoes.

I also wear comfortable clothes. In the fall/winter, I like cordoroys, dress pants, or skirts, with plain old cotton shirts.

boring, simple and washable!

4. old-new teacher

old-new teacher Comrade

Nov 17, 2008

I teach 2nd grade and have a pretty eclectic mix of looks. I like tailored jackets because you can wear them with just about anything and they dress it up. I like to wear long, flowy skirts with sweaters, but I also like to wear nice slacks with a simple button up shirt. On Fridays when we can "dress down" I will wear one of my blazers with a simple shell with nice jeans and pumps (low heel). It really is going to depend on your sense of style.

5. dizzykates

dizzykates Habitué

Nov 17, 2008

I wear khakis or dress pants every day with a dress shirt/vest combo or a sweater. I have many sweaters I wear over nice dress shirts or long sleeve shirts. I wear flats most of the time, but more out of necessity (I am tall and can't find pants long enough).

6. TennisPlayer

TennisPlayer Cohort

Nov 17, 2008