What to say on Interview about this question??

Discussion in 'General Education' started by cutiegirlxo, Aug 27, 2008.

1. cutiegirlxo

cutiegirlxo Rookie

Aug 27, 2008

I have a Masters in Special Ed. and a BS in Childhood education. I was never interested in teaching Special Education, but wanted to get my Masters in it to learn more about special ed because while getting my BS, I was never exposed to it. I am going to be applying to jobs soon in Las Vegas and I'm afraid they are going to put me in a Special Ed. position. How can I say that I don't want to teach Special Ed and want to teach General Ed. without sounding rude and getting turned down completely. I only wanted to get my Masters in Special Ed. so that I could better assist students that were having difficulty in my general ed. classes and to learn more about Special Ed...but now with everyone wanting people who have a special ed. background, I feel like I have messed my chances and will always have to worry about being placed in a special education classroom :(
    Please help!

3. ku_alum

ku_alum Aficionado

Aug 27, 2008

In my district sped jobs are listed as sped, and gen ed jobs are listed as gen ed ... so it would simply be an issue of not applying for sped jobs. Is it not like that everywhere?

I think you really can sell your degree the way you hope (help all learners) in an interview, I don't think you've necessarily hurt your employability.

4. SpecialPreskoo

SpecialPreskoo Moderator

Aug 27, 2008

That's what I was thinking... only apply for the Gen. Ed. jobs.

5. cutiegirlxo

cutiegirlxo Rookie

Aug 27, 2008

No, in the district I currently work at... if they need someone in the Special Ed. position- they will put you there regardless of whether you want to be there or not. I'm afraid of how to answer the question "Why I don't want to teach Special Ed.?" without sounding rude and still get the job.

6. cutiegirlxo

cutiegirlxo Rookie

Aug 28, 2008