What to Expect as a K Volunteer?

Discussion in 'Kindergarten' started by hzminda, Nov 22, 2010.

1. hzminda

hzminda Rookie

Nov 22, 2010

Hey Everyone!

I am a student currently majoring in Elementary Education and I thought it would be a good idea to volunteer at the local schools in my community.

I contacted a school and went through the whole orientation process of becoming a volunteer. I told them i preferred to volunteer in 3rd or 4th grade, but they said none of the teachers in those grades needed help. So they asked me if I wanted to volunteer for K. I said yes; I figure I have nothing to lose, but gain experience!

I was wondering what to expect as a K. volunteer :)

-Thanks in Advance!

M.H.

3. Peachyness

Peachyness Virtuoso

Nov 22, 2010

Volunteering in a K classroom will SOOO get you ready for the teaching world. I did my student teaching in K and ended up teaching K for three years and MAN did my ability to manage behavior improve when I student taught K. If you can handle those kiddos, you can handle any grade. Really.

So, what to expect? Well, when I had volunteers I put them to work by:
    1) getting art projects ready
    2) pulling kids one at a time to have them read their decodables you
    3) take over a workshop activity during workshop/center time
    4) pull kids to do one on one intervention (counting, abc flashcards, practice writing name, sight words, numbers ID, etc)
    5) organize paperwork, place things into their cubbies
    6) sharpen pencils
    7) get workshop/centers ready for the day
    8) put their decodables together (came from program and we had to fold and staple them together)
    9) pull kids back to work on their monthly art project
    10) circulate the room and help kids during whole group work
    11) work with kids on their writing