What to do?!!!

Discussion in 'Teacher Time Out' started by cindyw625, May 21, 2009.

1. cindyw625

cindyw625 Rookie

May 21, 2009

I need some ideas here. I'm a former student teacher who is trying to complete my student teaching documents. I currently have an "incomplete" due to my Supervisor's decision. I heard from the student teaching department negative things about my Supervisor, including that she used supervise their undergrad student teachers and didn't keep her for various reasons. I think I know those reasons.

Our county in Florida here are not currently hiring for the next fiscal school year. Substituting is no longer lasting on a daily basis. I need to find some income but also find a job that's flexible with me interviewing and trying to find an actual career position. I thought of retail but would hate to stoop that low. Any ideas?

3. Blue

Blue Aficionado

May 21, 2009

Have you tried Head Start?

4. Aliceacc

Aliceacc Multitudinous

May 22, 2009

What's "low" about retail?

It seems you are looking for a job, but not necessarily in education. Are there any openings in anything tourism-related?

Does that "incomplete" mean you don't have your degree? Why not get in touch with the college and find out what you would need to get it. At least you would have a degree to put onto your resume, even if you had no plans to teach.

5. cindyw625

cindyw625 Rookie

May 22, 2009

Head Start currently has no openings.

I graduated from California in the same field - there they just make us graduate first then do the student teaching. I moved to Florida several years ago and recently got into a student teaching program that is offered to those with degrees already. I do want an instructional position, however, I have that incomplete for now and our county isn't hiring.

The incomplete is temporary. Once I finish all documentation then the incomplete will be changed to an "Pass."