What to do with stuff you "inherit"?

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by rebelgirl, May 16, 2009.

1. rebelgirl

rebelgirl Rookie

May 16, 2009

I am a 1st year teacher and will finish my 1st year in 3 days.

The room I took over was vacated by a retiring teacher. She left everything for me - which I am grateful for.

Her system of organization was in binders and my system is folders. I have slowly (very slowly) tried to convert it. Some of the material is old, outdated and younger elementary.

My question is this - Am I under any obligation to the school to keep things that came with the room? I have no intention of leaving my school for many, many years. If I do ever change I will take my current stuff with me. Am I to leave her old things in some place because I "inherited" them and should also pass them on one day.

We all know that everyone is cramped for space. I really don't want to have a section in my room donated to things that I will not use.

Thanks,

Jackie

3. cutNglue

cutNglue Magnifico

May 16, 2009

The best thing to do is to ask your administration. My boss didn't mind certain things being thrown out but other things were really property of the school. She's a conserver though. If there was something we really wanted to give out she wanted us to at least ask others if they want it first.

4. MissFroggy

MissFroggy Aficionado

May 16, 2009

We often have a big spot where we put things we are getting rid of that anyone can leaf through. Your school may do the same thing, and you just might not know about it yet. If not, ask someone and see if there is a place you can put a "free" box.

Also, you might want to keep some of the stuff for another year. You just never know when it could come in handy. If you don't use something after two years, then it is probably time to toss it for sure. I waited two years to get rid of all the junk in my classroom that I didn't think I would use!

5. luckyal29

luckyal29 Companion

May 16, 2009