What to do with Severe/Profound and Autism?

Discussion in 'Special Education' started by sk8enscars311, Aug 29, 2009.

1. sk8enscars311

sk8enscars311 Companion

Aug 29, 2009

I recently accepted a long term sub position at a high doing adapted health. Two of my classes include students with severe/profound disabilities and autism. The severe/profound teacher is VERY high-strung and picky about what her kids do but is also too busy acting to be able to sit with me and give me tips as to how I can live up to her expectations. Apparently she's ex-military. Btw, I'm a music teacher with 3 years experience teaching elementary music. I'm currently enrolled in special ed grad classes but I'm not going to learn enough this semester to help get me through these classes.

So here's my question... What kinds of activities would you see going on in these kinds of classrooms? Each class has 6 kids. I'd have 2 aides helping in each room (and sometimes the teacher sticks around to see what I'm doing!). The first two days of school another teacher suggested I do a "get to know you" collage. I brought in magazines and big paper and they were to point to things they liked and we'd cut it out and glue it down. Not a single kid could actually do that. It was pretty much 45 minutes of us walking around, guessing what we should cut out. 4 kids sat and stared the whole time, 1 wouldn't put down the national geographic and another LOVED every single page and laughed the whole time. I'm really going to enjoy working with them. I just feel so much stress from the teacher to place well-thought out lessons in front of them. Any ideas? Thanks!!

3. AspieTeacher

AspieTeacher Comrade

Aug 29, 2009

Talk To The Families About Thier Interests!