What to do with "rude" students

Discussion in 'High School' started by Cheekyone, Feb 16, 2016.

1. Cheekyone

Cheekyone Rookie

Feb 16, 2016

Currently, I'm only a student teacher. I observe 3 periods and teach one period. My period has nice students, but 2nd period has a certain student who is rude. I am uncertain how to handle it since my mentor teacher seems to just ignore her rudeness. The other students aren't rude, but this one is. Basically, she calls me over without saying "Ms." and says "come here" as a command. Most students say thanks and are polite, so she is the only one who does this to both me and my mentor. She definitely would seem the type to become rebellious if called out on that. She actually does her work and is on task but is very rude. When she is helped, she says she knew that or that we could have just gave her the answer, even though we want to lead them not tell them the answer. I have started to avoid crossing her desk to help the other students since I still haven't figured out how to deal with it. I once saw my mentor teacher get upset with her when she moved past him, almost pushing him without saying excuse me, and I don't want to get upset or even allow any of that for when I teach. What would you do? How can I take this in to help me in the future?

3. Caesar753

Caesar753 Multitudinous

Feb 16, 2016

What has your mentor teacher said when you've asked her about it?

Because I am fairly assertive as a teacher, I would probably address it directly with the student. It's okay to say to a student, "That's rude." You can also say, "I'm not sure if you mean it this way, but you're coming across as very harsh or rude right now. Maybe you could tone it down a bit, and say please and thank you. I'd love to help you, but not if you're going to be rude to me." Sometimes students legitimately don't realize how they are coming across. Sometimes they are just cranky, in which cases it can be best to just ignore their behaviors when possible.