What to do with a teaching degree - homeschool for someone else?

Discussion in 'General Education Archives' started by aduncan365, Sep 22, 2005.

1. aduncan365

aduncan365 Rookie

Sep 22, 2005

Hi all,

I know the homeschool section has a website but I couldn't find any sort of tips regarding my situation.

I am a certified grade k-6 teacher in Ontario. I haven't been able to get a job in the public school system, so I've been working in a daycare for almost a year and constantly looking for a school age teaching position.
    I'm starting to think a public school job is not happening for me and am now looking at alternatives: private education, tutoring etc.
    I have recently found out a family around the corner wants to have their 12 year old homeschooled by a certified teacher because he is bored at school.
    (I haven't talked to them yet).

I thought this was something generally taken on by parents, I didn't realize people would hire teachers to do it.

Does anyone have any experience homeschooling children that aren't theirs?

Just wondering...thanks.

Amy

3. MrsC

MrsC Multitudinous

Sep 22, 2005

No experience, but I had this conversation with someone just last night. She said that she is concerned about her son going off to highschool next year, and that maybe he should be homeschooled...by someone else! Might be worth investigating!

4. becky

becky Enthusiast

Sep 22, 2005

Where I live the parent has to be the main teacher. I guess you could do this covertly, or maybe it's different where you are.
    Amy, go to www.homeschoolspot.com, and post your question. There are at least two Canadian posters that I know of and they could tell you what the h.s. laws are there.

5. Syele

Syele Companion

Sep 23, 2005

Yeah it depends on where you live weather it's legal or not. it's worth checking though for sure.