What to do when your students hate you. :(

Discussion in 'Secondary Education' started by pinkcupcake90, Jan 28, 2016.

1. pinkcupcake90

pinkcupcake90 Companion

Jan 28, 2016

Hi, everybody.

I'm a new teacher this year, and my period 4/5 seniors are quite rude. They have made me cry on several occasion because they hate reading. It's an English class! :(

Today, I was talking to one of my juniors, and he said the worst thing a teacher could hear: "Miss H, your seniors hate you with a burning passion. They talk badly about you all the time."

I understand that I can be strict sometimes, but I always offer extra credit opportunities and my tests are so easy. I did have to kick out two students for their anti-Muslim and discriminatory remarks, but what else was I supposed to do?

I hate being hated, especially at this new school where I want to stay. I'm long-term subbing for a teacher that's not coming back, so I want to stay. I love this job more than anything. Literally. Anything. My weekends are spent lesson-planning and grading because I love literature more than life itself. I just thought that kids would actually like me.

Is it normal to be hated by seniors as a teacher?

3. a2z

a2z Virtuoso

Jan 28, 2016

These things are mutually exclusive. Extra credit and easy tests are not a substitute for how you work with students.

I'm not saying what you are doing is wrong because I have nothing to go by. You didn't share much about how you run your class or what you mean by strict. I wouldn't keep in your mind that somehow extra credit and easy tests somehow would make up for hard feelings in other aspects of teaching whether real or perceived by the students.