what to do when kids are done working

Discussion in 'Elementary Education Archives' started by heathers, Jul 18, 2006.

1. heathers

heathers Rookie

Jul 18, 2006

Hi I'm new to fourth grade this year, and just wondering if anyone has anyone helpful tips for a smooth, and hopefully not so chatty classroom. I taught first grade last year and my class was extremely chatty. I am wondering if anyone has any advice to at least try to avoid some of the chatter. What do you have fourth graders do when they are all finished with their work? Also I don't want to run my class like a prison, but is it too strict or even realistic to try to have them keep their voices to a whisper while in my class?

3. ILuvKaliNJay

ILuvKaliNJay Rookie

Jul 18, 2006

I teach second and I had a very chatty class last year as well. Some activities I plan on having early finishers do this year are the following: Read the room (only 1 at a time, I only have one pointer, work on a class puzzle (located on a back table (only 2 at at time), practice sign language (2 at a time, I plan on putting up a sign lang. chart in a back corner and posting their names around the chart so they can practice signing their names and classmates names, eventually I'll add some common phrases. I also have a sign lang. book and my kids loved to practice from that book last year they always ended up fighting over it, so hopefully having a chart posted will eliminate any bickering!), read an AR book and take an AR test, draw( I have copied and laminated several pics from those drawing books), or complete a word search (I printed several cartoon ones from the internet and also laminated. I'm also hoping to find a few more choices.

4. leslye

leslye Rookie

Jul 18, 2006