what to do if I get a job offer

Discussion in 'Job Seekers' started by deweyteach, Apr 6, 2010.

1. deweyteach

deweyteach Rookie

Apr 6, 2010

I had my first interview of the season this morning at a local high school. YAY! I have another interview on Thursday (same district, middle school). I am a new teacher who has had another career and I don't know the etiquette of school hiring. Of course, there may be NO hiring of me at all but I have to consider what to do if I were offered a job and I'd appreciate input. A couple of questions:

1. Should I tell both principals that I'm interviewing at the other school even before I'm offered a job? (Today's principal said that a decision would be made early next week.)
    2. If I am offered a job, is it okay to ask for time to think about it? (I will take either job--happily--but feel that if I've just had an interview, it would be polite at least to let the school that hasn't made their decision know about offer #1).
    3. If I were lucky enough to get both offers at about the same time, how should I choose between middle school and high school teaching? I like both ages--I've regularly substituted in middle school and high schools but I don't have that strong age preference that I know more experienced teachers often have.

:confused::confused:Thanks, in advance, for your feedback.

Keeping my fingers crossed for all the great teachers on this site!

3. kstar03

kstar03 Companion

Apr 6, 2010

1. I wouldn't discuss your interview plans with any school. It's none of their business and best to keep under your cap.
    2. I would take time to think about a job, even if I didn't have something else on the back burner. Some schools may give you a timetable (over the weekend for example if offer given on a Friday)