What to do about steamrolling colleague...

Discussion in 'General Education' started by Hiyateacher, Feb 6, 2020.

1. Hiyateacher

Hiyateacher Rookie

Feb 6, 2020

Has anyone ever had to deal with a colleague who is intense and seems to steamroll you all the time? I am a teacher that shares a classroom with another teacher. She is younger than me and only in her second year. We teach students in a certain program. I have them for three periods a day, she only see's them once. I originally gave her some space in the room such as setting up the table and student computer as her "desk" so that she would also have some space in the room and be seen as an equal authority. That worked out fine last year, but this year, she actually moved a full teacher desk into the classroom. The only problem is, she now uses that instead of her designated office space in another part of the building. She'll be in there when I am teaching and she is on planning...I do the same thing because it's vice versa when she is teaching in there, however, unlike her, I do not have another designated space in the building and I need to access files and things in my room in order to do my paperwork.

She also has a way of getting in the middle of everything and will steamroll me and interrupt me/intervene with a student when I am dealing with them. She also starts encroaching on my content area sometimes and will begin teaching things that I teach them. I am a firm believer in cross-content/cross-disciplinary teaching, but it feels like she steps on my toes. She also does not always tell me when things are going on with students. I try to communicate with her when I see things going on with our students and let her know what I plan on teaching. She does not always reciprocate. We have different teaching styles and personalities which is fine because I think it's important to expose students to different styles and personalities, however, she is much more intense than I am.