What to buy?

Discussion in 'Fourth Grade' started by sunshine24, Jul 10, 2014.

1. sunshine24

sunshine24 Comrade

Jul 10, 2014

I was just hired as a 4th grade General Education teacher. I am still waiting for all of the paperwork to be processed and to sign my contract. I have not seen my room nor do I know anything about any materials.

However, I am anxious to start creating a list of things that I will need. I am a first year teacher so I need to spend cautiously, so I want to know what to keep an eye out for during the summer. What are some must-haves that you have purchased for your classrooms? What are your go-to stores (Target/Walmart, teacher stores, dollar stores, etc).

3. OneBerry

OneBerry Comrade

Jul 14, 2014

First, can you find out your student supply list? You might be able to find it online, even. You may or may not be able to rely on students bringing in those items, but it's a good thing to be aware of so that you don't spend your money on what will be provided by the students. Second, you'll definitely want to know what is provided by the school. At my school, not a lot is provided but pencils, tape, staples, and glue are so I know not to spend my money on those items. Off the top of my head, I consider organizational items (my sterilite drawers, pencil boxes, etc.), colored pencils, paper, scissors, rulers, and a pencil sharpener to be essential. I would highly advise keeping your receipts if you plan to shop before seeing your classroom though, in case you discover that there is no room for your drawer set, or your room came stocked with 30 pairs of scissors, or whatever.

Regarding what stores to shop at, I'll go wherever has the best deals. I think it's fun to watch the ads and see where the best sales are on different items. Last year I needed scissors and got a whole bunch of good quality ones at Target for a good price.

4. Upsadaisy

Upsadaisy Moderator

Jul 14, 2014