What time to you arrive

Discussion in 'Elementary Education' started by Lindsnh, Oct 23, 2008.

1. Lindsnh

Lindsnh Companion

Oct 23, 2008

How early to you get to school each day? Our day officially begins at 8:00 but we have to be there by 7:30 each day. I usually arrive around 6:45. Some teachers at my school get there at 5:50 or 6 each day. I can't figure out what they must do for 1 hour and a half in their classroom. Some of these teachers also stay to 6 each night.This is my first year so I was just wondering what the norm was.

3. adventuresofJ

adventuresofJ Comrade

Oct 23, 2008

My host teacher gets in around 7:45-8, kids show up about 8:15. they are required to stay until 4, but because she prefers to not work at home unless it is something mindless like grading multiple choice or organizing, she stays until 5 or 6 to get everything done. On Fridays she will stay as long as she needs to get lessons and copies made fore the next week though.

4. mom2ohc

mom2ohc Habitué

Oct 23, 2008

we have to be there at 830, the kids come in at 835 (don't ask)

I usually come in around 8, depending on how it went dropping of my daughters, and how long the coffee line was :)

5. swansong1

swansong1 Virtuoso

Oct 23, 2008

I get there around 5:00. Kids arrive at 7:00. I'm a morning person and I teach ESE K-5 so planning is essential for all those grade levels. I leave school most days before 3:00 but work 3 or 4 hours at home in the evening. We are almost 3 months into the school year and we have just received our math and reading curriculum. Planning should lessen dramatically now that I am not having to invent the wheel to teach my students.

6. lovetoshop

lovetoshop Rookie

Oct 23, 2008