What state tests do your students take?

Discussion in 'Fifth Grade' started by ms_teacher, Nov 9, 2008.

1. ms_teacher

ms_teacher Companion

Nov 9, 2008

I am a 5th grade teacher in NYC. We take a NYS Social Studies Assessment the 2nd week of November.

In January (usually the 2nd week) we take the NYS ELA Assessment.

In March we have a NYS Math Assessment.

What assessments do your 5th graders take? Do they count towards your school's AYP?

Our Math & ELA scores count towards the AYP. Beginning next year the SS scores will count also!!

3. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Nov 9, 2008

In MA the fifth graders take the MCAS ELA test in March and the MCAS math, science, and social studies in May. Up until now only the ELA, math, and science tests counted towards AYP, but the social studies scores will count starting this year.

4. ms_teacher

ms_teacher Companion

Nov 9, 2008

So you guys have 3 seperate tests in May? Or is the test in May one multi-curricular test?

5. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Nov 9, 2008

Three separate tests. We end up with 5 days of testing in May (2 math, 2 science, 1 SS).

6. ms_teacher

ms_teacher Companion

Nov 9, 2008

Wow!! That's a rough schedule!! Do you do test prep? How does it work?

7. Beth2004

Beth2004 Maven

Nov 9, 2008

Yeah, it's tough.
    We've already started test prep for the ELA test in March. That ends up being 3 days of testing. We've already started practicing writing answers to open response questions since that's the area where our school tends to struggle the most. We'll do about 4 weeks of more intensive test prep right before the test also.

I don't teach math, science, or social studies, but those teachers use MCAS style questions all year to familiarize the students with them and spend some time reviewing and preparing right before the tests in May.

8. knitter63

knitter63 Groupie

Nov 9, 2008